GoFundMe Research on black identity in Puerto Rico

http://dulcinegradelamota.tumblr.com/post/116134845072/gofund-my-besty-s-research-black-identity-in-p

My name is Michaela and I am a Master’s student in the Latin American Studies program at UT Austin. This summer I plan on examining the presence (or absence) of Black identity formation and resistance in Loiza and Carolina, Puerto Rico. I want to explore the ways that the national discourse of PR relegatesBlackness to the past that only acknowleges Blackness as an “African influence” on such things as music, dance, and food. This subsumes Blackness into the national narrative of a post-racial nation and negates the possibility of a present Black identity in favor of a melting pot theory, which in my opinion, is a way of negating a comprehensive, political Black identity and also a way to deny anti-Black racism.

Please help me with housing, public transportation, and material costs!

Leave a Reply

